Home >> Pathways to Four-Year Universities

Pathways to Four-Year Universities

pathways logoPathways to Four-Year Universities is a groundbreaking new multi-party initiative between five Bay Area community colleges (Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, De Anza College, Laney College, Merritt College), UC Berkeley’s Center for Educational Partnerships, and other UC campuses, as well as several other four-year universities across the country.

Pathways invites and supports community college students with the intent to transfer to UC Berkeley, another UC campus, or any four-year university with two key elements:

1) Advising from UC Berkeley advisers while enrolled at these five California community colleges and throughout the transfer application and admission process to UC Berkeley, another UC campus, or one of the other four-year universities covered under this novel articulation agreement.

2) Summer courses at UC Berkeley, where students continue to make progress toward their complete coursework for transfer to UC or other four-year institutions. Berkeley Summer Sessions offers key prerequisites or gateway courses to most majors, which both speeds up student accumulation of transferable credit and helps the community college student get acclimated to a four-year college.

The Pathways program also contains a unique financial aid agreement that keeps costs down with federal financial aid for eligible US students.

Click here for answers to frequently asked questions.

For more information on Pathways, click on your college's logo below:
Berkeley LogoDeAnza logoBCC Logo
Merritt Logo COA LogoLaney Logo